TDP set to have tie-up with BJP?

Hyderabad: Telugu Desam Party has gone into poll mode and is in the process of trying to forge a pre-poll alliance with BJP.

According to senior party leaders, the party is working out all strategies keeping in view the need to accommodate some of the BJP candidates and have seat adjustments with them while short listing the party candidates for Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. The party has also constituted teams consisting of youth drawn from some universities in the State and held special training camps for them at NTR Trust Bhavan recently and told them about the parameters based on which they need to conduct the survey on a regular basis.

TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh, who has been taking active interest in party affairs, has been tasked with the job of coordinating with these teams.As many Congress leaders, including Ganta Srinivasa Rao, are contemplating to join TDP, Naidu has decided to go slow and wait till January-end before finalising the names of the candidates for some of the seats including Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat.

Ganta was elected as the TDP MP in 2004 from this constituency. Sources said Narsapur Lok Sabha seat will see tough competition as the sitting MP M Venugopal Reddy and an NRI Chandrasekhar are lobbying for it. Chandrasekhar is said to be a businessman from the US and is yet to join the party. It is learnt that the names of five sitting MPs – N Nageswara Rao (Khammam), K Narayana Rao (Machilipatnam), Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad), N Kistappa (Hindupuram) and N Sivaprasad from (Chittoor) – have been cleared. The other names which are said to have been cleared by Naidu are K Ramamohan (son of K Yerran Naidu) from Srikakulam parliamentary seat, Deputy leader in Assembly P Ashok Gajapathi Raju from Vizianagaram, G Surya Rao (Amalapuram), Murali Mohan (Rajahmundry), Maganti Babu (Eluru), Kesineni Nani (Vijayawada), K E Krishnamurthy (Kurnool), A Narsa Reddy (Nizamabad), P Ramulu (Nagar Kurnool), Madan Mohan (Zaheerabad) and  Dr Sharat from Peddapally Lok Sabha constituency.

Senior leader E Peddi Reddy who is keen to contest from Karimnagar Parliamentary constituency has been appointed as the party in-charge for Ramagundum assembly constituency.

Sources said that this is being done to accommodate the BJP candidate in case the pre-poll alliance takes


Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>