All-party T meet on Dec 28

The Congress-led UPA Government at the Centre has convened an All-Party meeting of the principal political parties in Andhra Pradesh on December 28 on the issue of Telangana. This is being seen as a move to placate the Telangana Congress MPs and to ensure their support to vote along with the government on FDI in multi-brand retail issue in parliament.

Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde has convened the All-Party meeting of the political parties in Andhra Pradesh. The sulking Telangana Congress MPs welcomed the meeting and agreed to participate in the FDI vote. There is no clarity yet on which parties and how many representatives from each party would be invited for the All-Party meeting.

The All-Party meeting was also advocated by TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu in his letter to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Chandrababu Naidu had demanded that the Centre should convene the All-Party meeting and he offered to unveil his stand in that meeting.

Once again, pressure would mount within each political party that it should take a stand on Telangana and spell it out in the All-Party meeting. There is a divide in the major parties on regional lines and once again it comes to the head, with the Centre calling the All-Party meeting.

The Telangana Congress MPs had on Tuesday boycotted the meeting called by Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, who is also the leader of the House in the Lok Sabha, along with Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath, ahead of the FDI vote in Parliament.

The Telangana Congress MPs were upset that the Telangana issue was being overlooked by the party and the UPA government. Statements by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy and L Rajagopal, MP, that the votes of Telangana MPs would not matter, too, offended them.

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>